Reach Higher! Staff Scholarship

Every year the Camp Kintail Board receives applications and rewards the Reach Higher Staff Scholarship. This scholarship was created by the Camp Kintail Board to encourage excellence and celebrate personal development amongst staff members. It annually recognizes staff members’ significant contributions to Christian camping ministry.

2021 Application Deadline: Friday October 22nd, 2021

To Submit: Email completed applications with the filename as your full name to [email protected]. Remember to have your references submit their letters to the same email address!

Scholarship Guidelines

  • The number and amount of awards is to be determined and may depend on available funding and the quality of applications
  • Previous recipients may apply again
  • A selection committee will determine recipients and may consult with the Camp Directors
  • The names of applicants and references will be kept confidential, but the names of successful recipients may be published
  • Recipients will be announced by the end of October


  • Registered at a college or university for the Fall 2018 and/or Winter 2019 semester
  • Worked three or more summers as a Camp Kintail staff member, including this one
  • Not a member of the Camp Kintail Board or the Selection Committee, nor has an immediate family member on the Board or Selection Committee
  • Intend to complete current employment contract with Camp

Selection Criteria

  • Quality of answers to the application questions which demonstrate personal reflection and a thorough effort
  • The staff member has demonstrated a commitment to Camp Kintail’s core values:
    • Safety
    • Play, fun, and joy
    • Inclusion
    • Growth and Learning
    • Excellence
    • Stewardship
  • Financial need may be considered in determining amount of the award, but this is not a primary selection

Previous Recipients

  • Holly “Zucchini” Boyne
  • Sarah “Zarbini” Boyne
  • Kelsey “Nile” Espensen
  • Aaron “Talus” Holden
  • Anita “Moringa” Young
  • Lauren “Pika” Holden
  • Holly “Zucchini” Boyne
  • Samantha “Meridian” Molinao
  • Aaron “Talus” Holden
  • Lauren “Pika” Holden
  • Lauren “Pika” Holden
  • Darryl “Stork” Sherk
  • Maddie “Chickadee” Krusto
  • Jessie “Aqua” Hooker
  • Erin “Lobster” Huston
  • Jeremy “Chasm” Ernest
  • Maddie “Chickadee” Krusto
  • Sydney “Jabiru” O’Brien
  • Chris “Meerkat” Zeigler
  • Kyla “Hibou” Reinsoo